Haldimand County Recognizes Outstanding Community Volunteers at 19th Annual Recognition Night

Haldimand County’s 19th Annual Recognition Night took place October 17, 2019 at the Fisherville Lions Community Centre and, once again, honoured almost forty nominees.

Almost 300 guests attended the dinner and awards ceremony recognizing nominees in 12 categories, including three inductees onto the Walls of Fame in Caledonia and Dunnville and Sports Achievement Wall inductions in Cayuga and Jarvis. (In the case of the Walls of Fame, these individuals are recognized for their significant contributions to recreation and sport in their communities while the Sports Achievement Walls celebrate athletic accomplishment and sportsmanship.)

Along with the regular categories, an Inspiration Award was presented. Haldimand County has only given out this Award on a few occasions, and only for exceptional individuals. This year, the late Ron Clark was recognized for his incredible vision, leadership, generosity and humility in volunteering and contributing to his community.

Emcee Rock “N” Ray Michaels, from 92.9 The Grand, had the room in celebration mode as volunteers were honoured for their contributions to the County’s many festivals, events, capital and beautification projects, sporting activities and community halls.

This year, Volunteer of the Year honours went to Selkirk’s Jenny Bryce, while Caledonia’s Andrew Poirier was named Youth Volunteer of the Year. A full list of honourees and award winners is listed below.

Inspiration Award:

Ron Clark

Wall of Fame Inductees:

Caledonia Wall of Fame

Jim Harris

Gord Roberts

Dunnville Wall of Fame

Robert Culp

Haldimand County Recognition Awards (winners in bold italics):


Nominees for Heritage Haldimand Award

Canadian Drilling Rig Museum

Selkirk Memorial Gates Restoration Project

Wildwood Art Gallery and Studio


Nominees for Community Culture Award

Dunnville Community Theatre

Rosemary ‘Greg’ Hilton

Marion Nie


Nominees for Caring Haldimand Award

By the Willow Hospice Day Away Program

Dunnville Secondary School’s Relay for Life

Hagersville Food Bank


Nominees for Community Project Award – Small Projects (up to $10,000 budget)

Dunnville Horticultural Society – Floral Clock Rehabilitation Project

Dunnville Horticultural Society – Thompson Creek Park Heritage Tree Designation


Nominee for Community Project Award – Large Projects (over $10,000 budget)

Caledonia Disc Golf Project


Nominees for Community Festival Award – Minor Festival (<500 attendees)

Dunnville Shared Harvest’s Turnip the Beets Music Festival

V-Day Dunnville


Nominees for Community Festival Award – Major Festival

Caledonia Chili Cook-Off

Hagersville Santa Claus Parade


Nominees for Community Organization or Group Award

Cayuga Christian Fellowship

(The) Friends of LaFortune Park

Phoenix Youth Group


Nominees for Youth Volunteer of the Year

Andrew Poirier

Shaunasy Thomas

Mackenzie Visser

Chloe Wilson


Nominees for Volunteer of the Year

Bart & Stacy Barnes

Jenny Bryce

Warren Burger

Toni Hayes

Lori Ivanco

Paul McClinchey

Craig Peters

Bev Richert


Sporting Achievement Award Nominees

Haldimand Heat (Cayuga)

Kyle Chambers (Jarvis)