18th Annual Recognition Night Celebrates “Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow”

Haldimand County’s 18th Annual Recognition Night took place October 11, 2018 at the Fisherville Lions Community Centre and, once again, honoured almost forty nominees.

More than 275 guests attended the dinner and awards ceremony recognizing nominees in 11 categories, including five inductees onto the Walls of Fame in Caledonia, Cayuga and Dunnville. (These individuals are recognized for their significant contributions to recreation and sport in their communities.)

Emcee Rock “N” Ray Michaels, from 92.9 The Grand, had the room in celebration mode as volunteers were honoured for their contributions to the County’s many festivals, events, capital and beautification projects, sporting activities and community halls.

This year, Volunteer of the Year honours went to Dunnville’s Nancy DeWitt, while Hagersville’s Owen Bluhm was named Youth Volunteer of the Year.

2018 Wall of Fame Inductees

Caledonia Wall of Fame
Dan Edge

Cayuga Wall of Fame
Joy Wheatley

Dunnville Wall of Fame
Barry Dear
Ken Hines
Tom Pettigrew

2018 Haldimand County Recognition Award Nominees & Winners
(Note: Winners are listed in bold italics)

Nominees for Heritage Haldimand Award
The Pelican Group
The Reeve Bed & Breakfast

Nominees for Community Culture Award
Don & Sylvia Weaver

Nominees for Caring Haldimand Award
By the Willow Hospice Day Away Program
The Dunnville Learning Centre
East Haldimand Hospice/East Haldimand Hospice Clinical Team
Colleen Wenzel
Yvette Young & Family

Nominees for Community Project Award – Small Projects (up to $10,000 budget)
Caledonia Veteran Banners Project
Dunnville Horticultural Society – Wingfield Park Project
Dunnville Veteran Banners Project

Nominee for Community Project Award – Large Projects (over $10,000 budget)
Jarvis Lions Club Trail/Pathway Project

Nominees for Community Festival Award – Minor Festival (<500 attendees)
Caledonia Community Easter Egg Hunt
Downtown is a Stage: Dunnville Friday Nights
Selkirk Christmas Celebration & Illuminated Tractor Parade

Nominees for Community Organization or Group Award
92.9 The Grand
Concerned Citizens of Haldimand
Just Tents Inc.

Nominees for Youth Volunteer of the Year
Owen Bluhm
Nicole Hibbs
Alexa McDonnell

Nominees for Volunteer of the Year
Paul Buchanan
Nancy DeWitt
Vern Disher
Lori Ivanco
Alex Komarniski
Sonya McKeen
Wayne Nie
Tom Pettigrew